Women's Grade Cricket

The Kath Smith Medal

The Kath Smith Medal is awarded each season to the best and fairest women's cricketer playing in women's district first-grade competition, known as the Katherine Raymont Shield and sponsored by Konica-Minolta, as judged by the umpires.

The award is named in honour of Kath Smith, who played six Tests for Australia in the 1930s and was vice-captain of the Australian team that played the very first women's Test against England in Brisbane in 1934.

Her cricket career began when she climbed over the back fence of the family home to play cricket with other neighbourhood children on Neumann Oval, now the home of Queensland Cricket.

A right-hand batter and left-arm pace bowler, she made her debut for Queensland at the age of 14 and was Australia's leading all-rounder by the time of the 1934-35 series against England. Australia collapsed for just 47 in the first innings but Kath, with 25, scored more than half of the team's total. She also top-scored with 47 in the first innings of the Second Test and took 3-42 to underline her value to the team.                                            

On the 1937 tour of England, her top score of 88 and a bowling haul of 4-50 inspired Australia to their first Test victory against England.

She once scored 200 in a Brisbane club match and after retiring from cricket, coached cricket at St Joseph's College, Gregory Terrace where she was a much-loved member of the school community.

Points are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis for each match in the Katherine Raymont Shield, with Trish Brown winning the medal for the first four years it was awarded. The full winners' list is:-


Kath Smith Medallists

 Year  Winner 
 2002-03  Trish Brown (Valley)
 2003-04  Trish Brown (Wynnum-Manly)
 2004-05  Trish Brown (Wynnum-Manly)
 2005-06  Trish Brown (Wynnum-Manly)
 2006-07  Melissa Bulow (Western Suburbs)
 2007-08  Jude Coleman (Beenleigh/Logan)
 2008-09  Melissa Bulow (Western Suburbs)
 2009-10  Melissa Bulow (Western Suburbs)
 2010-11  Jess Jonassen (University of Qld)
 2011-12  Jess Jonassen (University of Qld)
 2012-13  Jude Coleman (Ipswich/Logan)

 Delissa Kimmince (Gold Coast) 

 2014-15 Delissa Kimmince (Gold Coast)
 2015-16 Grace Harris (Western Suburbs)
 2016-17 Abigail Godfrey (Gold Coast)