The Queensland Premier Cricket Competition
The Queensland Premier Cricket competition exists for cricketers of all age to play at the top level of their capabilities in a well-structured and competitive environment.

There are 12 clubs from south-east Queensland which comprise the men's competition, which is sponsored by myFootDr and played in six grades - First-Grade, Alan Pettigrew Shield, Norm McMahon Shield, Bob Spence Shield, Roy Tanner Shield and Wep Harris Shield. The clubs are:-

To find the latest results on the Premier Grade Competition clink on the this link.

First Grade teams play for the myFootDr Premiership and the Peter Burge Medal, awarded annually to the player judged the best and fairest player by the umpires. Click here for a list of First-Grade Premiers. And click here for winners of the Burge Medal.

Kookaburra sponsors the Grade one-day and T20 competitions. 

QC Handbook

The Playing Regulations applying to all level of the Premier Cricket competition are contained in the annual Queensland Cricket Handbook. Click here for the latest version.

Contact us: Premier Cricket Officer - Michael Wright, (07) 3292 3112 mob: 0434225219, email: 

Each of the other grades is named after a prominent figure in the history of the grade competition. They are:-


Second Grade

A determined and tireless worker for Queensland Cricket for more than 30 years, Alan Pettigrew (1935-1993) hailed from Bundaberg and played club cricket in Brisbane with Northern Suburbs. He was the inaugural Chairman of the Queensland Cricket Board that was formed in 1991 and served as Queensland delegate on the Australian Cricket Board from 1978 until 1992. A former journalist, he became a senior public servant, finishing as the Director-General of the Department of Tourism, Sport and Racing.


Third Grade

One of Queensland Cricket's longest serving administrators, Norm McMahon (1922-1991) joined the QCA Executive Committee in 1956 and was Chairman from 1967 through to 1988. He was also an ACB delegate from 1967 to 1987. He was made a life member of Queensland Cricket in 1963 and awarded an OAM in 1984 for his services to the sport. His involvement included serving as President of Valley District Cricket Club and the Queensland Cricketers' Club and Chairman of the Brisbane Cricket Ground.


Fourth Grade

Queensland Cricket's scorer from 1961 through to 1987-88, Bob Spence (1920-1997) had more than one string to his bow. In addition to scoring more than 150 first class matches, including 16 Tests, the Brisbane accountant was also Queensland Cricket's Treasurer from 1963 to 1988. Childhood polio prevented him from playing, but he served as a scorer and administrator for Western Suburbs, earning life membership of that club. He was made a life member of Queensland Cricket in 1972. The annual medal awarded by the Queensland Cricket Umpires and Scorers' Association is named in his honour.


Fifth Grade

The Fifth Grade competition is named in honour of Roy Tanner (1912-1989), who was Queensland Cricket President for nearly 11 years from 1978. A former Queensland lacrosse player, he was a stalwart of the Sandgate-Redcliffe club, first as a player and later as an administrator. He was a life member of Sandgate-Redcliffe and was made a life member of Queensland Cricket in 1981. The H.R.Tanner complex at Deagon was named in recognition of his unstinting work for the club.


Sixth Grade

Previously known as the Under 18 Grade, this competition is named in honour of the late William Edward Pender Harris (1925-1997). Widely known as "Wep", he was a stalwart of the University of Queensland cricket club and grade cricket in general. Originally a player, he became a long-serving club administrator. He was a life member of University and was made a life member of Queensland Cricket in 1990. The pavilion at St Lucia was named after him in recognition of his tireless efforts.


Women's First Grade

Profile to be updated shortly.


Women's Second Grade

Profile to be updated shortly.


Junior Girls Competition

Profile to be updated shortly.

Back to Top